TECHNICAL BULLETIN



NEW PRESCRIBING LAWS IN NEVADA

Effective January 1, 2018, a dentist who holds a controlled substance permit with the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy will be required to comply with the changes to the laws and procedures (AB474) for prescribing a controlled substance (CS) in the state of Nevada in addition to the components currently listed in NAC 453.440. The key provisions of AB 474 are divided into six sections:

- 1). Components of a written CS prescription
- 2). Factors to Consider before writing any prescription for a controlled substance (CS)
- 3). Factors to Consider before writing an INITIAL prescription for a controlled substance (CS)
- 4). Prescribing after 30 days
- 5). Prescribing after 90 days
- 6). Prescribing after 365 days

A summary of AB 474 has been created and is known as the <u>"White Paper"</u> and may be reviewed and downloaded from the Nevada State Board of Dental Examiners website at <u>www.dental.nv.gov</u>. All information regarding <u>AB 474</u> is located in the center of the homepage.

Another helpful guide is known as the "*Chart*". The "*Chart*" explains the procedures before prescribing a controlled substance to a patient for the treatment of pain; procedures for an initial prescription; prescribing after 30 days; prescribing after 90 days and the procedures for prescribing after 365 days. The chart references certain tasks that are to be performed before the issuance of a controlled substance for the treatment of pain, such as, a patient risk assessment and obtaining informed consent. The Board has sample forms for the patient risk assessment and an informed consent form. Please be advised, a continuance of a controlled substance prescription for 30>consecutive days requires the practitioner and the patient to enter into a *Prescription Medication Agreement*. A sample agreement is available by visiting www.dental.nv.gov under heading "AB474".

In addition to the information contained in this notice, the Board has provided additional resources for you to review and integrate into your dental practice. The resources include, but are not limited to, a copy of AB 474, informative video regarding AB 474 and Pain Management and a list of frequently asked questions to assist you with compliance.

After you have reviewed all the materials pertaining to AB 474 and have additional questions you may contact Melanie Bernstein Chapman, Esq., General Counsel for the Board at (702) 486-5473.